FAILURE! Horrid, Horrid Failure

I’ve failed!

And on the fourth day, Nick forgot to blog.

I was staying at a friend’s house, knew I’d have find a moment to slip away and write it at somepoint, but honestly, I forgot about the blog about halfway through an argument about which actors could kick Matt Damon’s ass.

What action stars CAN'T kick his ass? Besides Shia, I mean.

Steve and Andrew maintain Damon is a badass, based on the BOURNE films. In fact, I believe they called him one of the most real life threatening actors in HWood. This seemed far fetched to me so I produced a list of actors that could destroy Damon in real life, including Tom Hardy, Jeremy Renner, Daniel Craig, Dwayne (The Rock) Johnson, and Jason Statham etc, at which point it became which actors could not just presently beat Damon, but which actors could do it in their prime. I quickly added Bruce Willis, Stallone, JCVD,  and Ar-nuld. Steve and Andrew didn’t agree about Arnold because Damon would be too quick and little, but I reminded them he actually has no fighting training, just BOURNE choreography, whereas Ar-nuld is fucking jacked!

But that’s not what this particular post is about. Nor is it about failure, even though I already failed my only New Year’s resolution.

I’ve decided to quickly touch on FRIGHT NIGHT, the most underseen movie of 2011 (behind DRIVE).

FRIGHT NIGHT is just a damn classy and stylish horror-comedy movie (Steve and Andrew don’t agree that it fits in the comedy territory) that no one saw.

From the ghostly opening credits to Hugo’s excellent cover of “99 Problems,” the film is an enjoyable watch from start to finish. Colin Farrell really killed it this summer between HORRIBLE BOSSES and playing the vampire Jerry (who is far more frightening than PARKS & REC’s Jerry). David Tenant also steals a few scenes as as the star of the Vegas show FRIGHT NIGHT, Peter Vincent.

Just… go watch it. Don’t let TWILIGHT sour you on Vampire flicks, cause this one is a fun modern take which turns some of the vampire rules on their head. And the vampires don’t sparkle, they explode into ash like the way  it’s supposed to be!

I’m sure I’ll have more on my love for FRIGHT NIGHT in my inevitable “Top 10 Movies Of 2011 Post” (can’t write that one til I see TINKER TAILOR SOLDIER SPY), so until then I leave you with these 99 Problems.

And yes, even though I’ve already failed at my dream of blogging everyday in 2012, I shall continue to blog daily none-the-less.

Previous Post
Leave a comment

1 Comment

  1. NKessinger

     /  January 6, 2012

    You’ll just have to post TWICE today!!!! A minor set-back, not failure!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment